



## **DRAFT AGENDA**

## 30 years of EU action against cancer Jointly organised by the European Commission and the Luxembourg Presidency

Luxembourg, Cercle Cité, 15 September 2015 (2:30 pm – 5:30 pm)

- Welcome by Luxembourg Presidency of the European Union (Lydia Mutsch, Minister for Health, Luxembourg), European Commission (Vytenis Andriukaitis, Commissioner for Health and Food Safety) and Mr Alojz Peterle (President of the MEPs against Cancer Group), Timing: 14.30 – 14.55
- 2. Three Panels (Followed each by an open discussion):
  - Historic background of EU Action on cancer and long term perspective (Timing: 14.55-15.35) Moderator- Tanja de Jager
    - speakers: **Alberto Costa** (4'), Director, European School of Oncology, **Mario Dicato** (4'), Centre Hospitalier Luxembourg, **Francisco Jesus Alvarez Hidalgo** (4'), Deputy Head of Unit, Health, Safety and Hygiene at Work Unit, Directorate General for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion, European Commission
  - Continuity from 1985 to 2015 (Timing: 15.35-16.30) Moderator Michael Hübel
    National Cancer Plans (Danielle Hansen-Koenig (4'), Director, Ministry for
    Health Luxembourg, Mojca Gobec (4'), Director General, Slovenian Ministry of
    Health),
    - Action in the field of prevention (**Wendy Yared** (4'), Director, Association of European Cancer Leagues, **Mr Luk Joossens** (4') European Cancer Leagues, **Mariann Skar** (4'), Secretary General, European Alcohol Policy Alliance),
    - European Code against Cancer, (**Christopher Wild** (4'), Director, International Agency for Research on Cancer)
  - Conclusions and Outlook (Timing: 16.35-17.15) Moderator- John F. Ryan
    - speakers: **F. Jankevičius** (4'), Director, University Clinic Santariskes, Vilnius, **Tit Albrecht** (4'), Institute of Public Health, Slovenia, **Francesco de Lorenzo** (4'), President, European Cancer Patient Coalition, **Martin Seychell** (4'), Deputy Director General, Directorate General for Health and Food Safety, European Commission, **Krzysztof Maruszewski** (4'), Director, Institute for Health and Consumer Protection, Joint Research Centre, European Commission

Closure: **John F. Ryan**, Acting Director for Public Health, Directorate General for Health and Food Safety, European Commission – **Danielle Hansen-Koenig** (*Timing: 17.15-17.30*)

Followed by a reception hosted by the Luxembourg Presidency

